Thursday: the Best of YouTube

21 Jun

Hard to believe, but one month ago I graduated from DePauw University. Although commencement weekend was filled with good-byes, it was also one of my favorite weekends at DePauw. DePauw pulled out all the stops for us. We had a beautiful baccalaureate service, where our President, President Brian Casey, gave an emotional and very personal address to my class. That evening DePauw hosted its signature event, DePauw Under the Stars. The lawn in front of East College, the iconic building on our campus, was covered in lights. Additionally, tables and a dance floor were step up and our student jazz band performed until late into the night. On Sunday morning my classmates and I walked through the college gates to our seats underneath the college crest. The scene was picturesque. Our commencement speaker, James B. Stewart, gave us wise words of advice: to always do what we are passionate about and to recognize the defining moments in our lives. We shook hands with President Casey, took photos with our diploma, and sang the alma mater. Most of it was a blur, but in those moments I felt so connected to DePauw. My pride, joy, and love I for the university grew leaps and bounds. That’s why I loved commencement weekend. On Sunday, as my family left me to finish packing up my room, they all raved about DePauw. They were beyond impressed and said that I had made an outstanding college choice. Yes, yes I did. While I miss campus, my friends, and my professors, I am happy to say that I am an alumna of DePauw University.

DePauw University’s 173 Commencement Exercises

Now that it is the end of June, graduation season is coming to a close. In honor of all the members of the Class of 2012, here are the “Top 10 Commencement Videos of 2012.” There are many good ones on this list, yet my favorite is Jane Lynch’s commencement speech at Smith College. Lynch is the right mix of inspirational, personable, and humorous. Maybe she can speak at my next graduation?

Which one is your favorite? What are your memories of your commencement weekend?

Leave a Reply

